2016-17 Mayor's Youth Advisory Council

Members of the 2016-17 Mayor’s Youth Advisory Council (MYAC) were sworn in and given the Oath of Office by Mayor David Wood on Sept. 19, 2016 during the regularly scheduled Common Council Meeting in the Council Chambers of City Hall.

The MYAC is comprised of students, sophomores, juniors or seniors who have been chosen to represent their community and serve as an advisory council to the City of Mishawaka regarding community issues affecting youth. These students will also serve as a liaison between the young adults of the community and the City. The MYAC enables students to work toward goals that empower all of the community’s youth and to undertake service projects and volunteer projects that enhance the community. This year’s Youth Council is the largest to date with a total of 40 students. Following is a list of these students and the high school that they represent:

Marian Students:

Emma Griesinger, Hannah Majewski, Marielle Corbett, Natalie Winters, Taylor Ryan-Sizemore, Gina Tordi, Michael Wuszke, Madeline Dennison, Emma Eversole, Abbey Wood and Alexia Alvarado.
Mishawaka Students:

Luke Kasznia, Lindsey Pellietier, Gabi Reinoehl, Abigail Mueller, Parker Norris, Katie Vandygriff, Kaitlin Ward, Devyn Miller, Skylar Madison, Max Pickenpaugh, Jacob Orbin, Austin Laymon, Skylar Norris, Kerri Clark, John Zylstra and Alexandria Shide.
Penn Students:

Maya Wright, Bo Schuster, Celine Wang, Logan McGuire, Jack Bender, Samantha Grocock, Hannah Smith, Alexis Marks, Reis Kennedy, Keegan Palonis, Collin Pica, Evan Pica and Kyle Cocquyt.

An election was held to select the Officers for this year’s MYAC and the following students were elected:

Abbey Wood, President
Logan McGuire, Vice-President
Taylor Ryan-Sizemore, Secretary
Reis Kennedy, Treasurer